Skip to main content

American Association of University Women- Kansas City



The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is a national association of women that began in 1881, and was founded by Marion Talbot, who would become the Dean of the College of Women at the University of Chicago, and Ellen Swallow Richards, who was the first woman in America to earn a degree in chemistry. The AAUW is an advocacy group whose creation was part of early efforts to “advance opportunities for women to pursue high education and careers- and for equal treatment with men.” (AAUW)

According to their website, “Our advocacy efforts have propelled countless new laws, including the Equal Pay Act, first proposed in 1945 and finally passed in 1963; the Title IX amendment in 1972; the Family and Medical Leave Act in 1993; the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act in 2009; and the Paycheck Fairness Act, which was passed by the U.S. Representatives in 2019 but is awaiting action in the Senate.”


The American Association of University Women.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

American Association of University Women – Kansas City (AAUW-KC) Collection

Identifier: MS-0173
Scope and Contents The American Association of University Women – Kansas City (AAUW-KC) Collection was transferred from the UMKC Women’s Center to LaBudde Special Collections, UMKC Libraries, in summer 2010. The collection dates from 1909-1985 and consists of 12 scrapbooks and 11 photographs. The collection contains the chronicled years of civic and social events and achievements garnered by the AAUW-KC. These materials provide insight into the organization and exhibit their efforts toward the betterment of...
Dates: 1909 - 1985